Tom Wegener

I really admire Tom Wegener for thinking outside of the box. The surfing community, in my mind has been stuck in a rut for a long time. If you weren’t a shortboarder, you were heckled, ridiculed, or whatever. Not everybody did this, but it was always there. This coming from a community that has veneer of being cutting edge and experimental, but really is very conservative. This has always bugged me. I have always loved to hop on any board I could get my hands on and give it a try. I surf for fun and not for ego, and therefore have had freedom to experiment. I spent most of my early years on bodyboards, skimboards, and longboards. It was great because I was always surfing waves that most people didn’t want, and have had a blast. Now I have thrown shortboarding into the repertoire as well and love it. I still return to the others on a regular basis. I sponged last night and had so much fun. The bottom line for me is that surfing is fun, good exercise, spiritually uplifting, and a place to meet other people. I am posting all four parts of Tom Wegener speaking at Patagonia in Cardiff, because I really enjoy his impact on surfing. So I hope you do to.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Tom Wegener”

  1. galen Says:

    Great post,
    My friends and i made an Alaia a while ago out of pine. Man is it fast! but like Wegener said; it is really tough to ride. Apparently there is a guy up here in Newport who has made like 6 or 7 of them.

Leave a Reply

