Suspended Animation

O.k., why not. I’m doing another Mike Patton project blog post for my Halloween week. This time it’s Fantomas off the album Suspended Animation. This is also one of my favorite albums. When I play it for people, I’m always surprised when they like it. Usually the albums I like that are on the unconventional side, I can’t get people to listen to. The way they blend cartoon sound-bytes together with their music is amazing. If you know the album, you will be amazed with this performance, because it is really close to the studio version.

I thought it would be good to post something from Trevor Dunn‘s website in the Q and A section regarding Fantomas:

YOUR QUESTION:
Name: jake 
Comments: trevor, your work with mr.bungle is kickass and that first album has some of my all time favorite bass lines but what the @#$% is up with fantomas’ first album? i trusted you and mike patton and dave lombardo (of whom i am a huge fan) but i bought that album and felt genuine rage towards you, i still idolize every note you play but come on man that is just so stupid i cant take it, its #*%^$& noise man, and i never use that term to describe music

MY ANSWER:
Believe it or not, every single note on that Fantomas album, and in fact, all Fantomas albums is pre-determined and rehearsed. The wood-shedding for that first one was some of the most rigorous and intense rehearsing I have ever gone through in my life. I’m glad that you felt rage because that a good feeling to have. But I think you should have more of an open mind towards music and, to be honest, towards noise which is a beautiful thing in and of itself. I can understand that you don’t get it, or that it’s out of your scope of normal or comprehensible, but you should watch your mouth when you call something stupid when it actually took a lot of blood, sweat and tears to produce. You’re entitled to your opinion and I don’t expect you to like everything that I do but that record is no less important or artistic than anything else I have ever done.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

