Sketchbook Randomness #2

Here is another page from an old sketchbook. This is a good contrast to the cartoon character posted previously. I really love figure drawing. It’s so challenging. In a landscape painting to a reasonable extent  you can screw up the proportions of a tree or rock and people probably won’t know or care. With figure drawing, unless you’re really purposeful in your figure distortions people will probably catch your mistakes. There are so many amazing artists who distort the figure well. I also see some people who do figure paintings making their subject look like Gumby or something ultra-elastic. For whatever reason this bugs me. I like to feel that there is a substructure beneath the skin and muscles that works in unison together. Figure drawing is one of those practiced skills that I will be working on my whole life to better myself at.

Leave a Reply

