The Weekend Away

San Francisco was a great little getaway. I don’t think relaxing would be the appropriate word to describe the time though. We kind of played tourists, which is fun to a point. Many places we visited we arrived at before the great hordes of romantic young lovers, Japanese tour groups in silver reflective jackets taking picture specimens, and hipster clones with the outfit of the moment.

We ate some amazing food, had some great hosts (Stacey’s aunt, uncle, and niece), and enjoyed ourselves immensely. The curtain of rain that has saturated the air on the west coast parted for just the weekend. We were able to just wear t-shirts every once in a while.

Here are a few shots I took. It’s hard for me to not look at vacation pictures and have a Bruce Brown narrative accompanied by some Herb Alpert trumpet background music.

Golden Gate Bridge Patrol car. I feel so safe.

A photo I took of the Golden Gate Bridge. I would get mild vertigo when I would look up. If I were able to overcome my fear of heights, I think it would be amazing to be a bridge worker.

The city from Coit Tower.

This city has no shortage of fascinating nooks and crannies.

A very classic San Francisco scene.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

