Backward Living

My friend Justin and I were talking the other day, and we both felt there are three predominant emotions you have as a freelance artist or graphic designer. First is fear (if you’re in-between jobs), second is very temporary joy (at pay-day), and lastly, pressure (to get the work done yesterday!) I’ve been in the pressure phase for a little while now (which is good, I know, no complaining), but I’m feeling the need for a break, at which point I’ll stress about a lack of work. It’s a vicious cycle folks.

I also know this about myself, I’m disciplined enough to work during the “work day”, but I have the most fun and the most productive in the off hours when it’s “free time”. Ugh! I think this is fairly normal with artists, but it’s backwards.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

