Road Weariness and Automated Flap-Jacks

What a wild time I had down south this past week! I made the long drive with my friend Matt Beard in his cavernous Sprinter Van. Lots of coffee and beer were drank, bad fast food consumed and sleep hard to find. The grittiness you feel from inside and out can be fixed with the occasional shower or proper sit down meal at a restaurant that doesn’t serve you by calling a number.

The weekend was a whirlwind of events, starting with setting up my space for the Boardroom, then taking the art down to be displayed at Bliss 101 friday night, after that, trying to figure out how I’d get my artwork there without a car (thanks Nathan Gibbs), next, setting up for one night, tear down, set up again at the Boardroom, tear down again for a show at Wade Koniakowsky’s gallery, and one last set up again sunday morning for one last day at the Boardroom, only to tear down again Sunday night. Phew…I’m tired again just writing about it.

Logistics aside, all the shows were a success! Collectors and fans came out to show their support and buy new pieces. I met a lot of interesting people. Some of which probably think I do lots of drugs, but no, it was just a lack of sleep making me act weirder than normal. All things considered, it was a really good time.

The icing on the cake was that Bliss 101 and Surf Indian took every original and print I brought down. So I returned with nothing. Now I need to get back at it, creating more art. I’m literally going back to the ole’ drawing board.

The more people I meet down south, the more fun I have every time I travel there. The more it feels like a home away from home. That’s something I never would have anticipated, even if I was born there. Thanks to everyone who made the weekend as great as it was, and a big success for my art.

I’m super hesitant to post this video, but what the heck. This interview didn’t go so good as far as I’m concerned. I didn’t answer the questions the way I would like to have. I couldn’t hear what they were saying to me, due to the surrounding noise, and I was super nervous. However, it was fun being interviewed by Dave Stansfield and Todd Kline. I’ve been listening to Dave commentate surf contests on T.V. since I was first started surfing back in the mid-eighties.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Road Weariness and Automated Flap-Jacks”

  1. Jeremy Bauer Says:

    Sounds crazy…loved the interview!! Reminded me (again) that I need to get some of your amazing art on my wall 🙂

Leave a Reply

